THE TEAM

Director of the SAAO

Director

Petri Vaisanen

petri@salt.ac.za

Astronomy Operations

Head of Astronomy Operations

Encarni Romero Colmenero

erc@salt.ac.za

mug-shot

Astronomer

Lee Townsend

lee@salt.ac.za

Astronomer

Enrico Kotze

ejk@saao.ac.za

Astronomer

Alexei Kniazev

akniazev@salt.ac.za

Astronomer

Solohery Randriamampandry

solohery@saao.ac.za

Astronomer

Danièl Groenewald

dgroenewald@saao.ac.za

Astronomer

Moses Mogotsi

moses@salt.ac.za

Software Developer

Nhlavutelo Macebele

nhlavutelo@saao.ac.za

Software Developer

Chaka Mofokeng

cmofokeng@saao.ac.za

SALT Fabry-Pérot Postdoc

Elizabeth Naluminsa

liz@saao.ac.za

Telescope Operator

Veronica van Wyk

veronica@salt.ac.za

Telescope Operator

Thea Koen

thea@salt.ac.za

Telescope Operator

Xola Ndaliso

xola@salt.ac.za

Telescope Operator Consultant

Fred Marang

fm@salt.ac.za

SALT Observatory Scientist

SALT Observatory Scientist

Lisa Crause

lisa@saao.ac.za

Technical Operations

SALT Technical Operations Manager

Paul Rabe

paul@salt.ac.za

Sub-Systems Engineer

Ockert Strydom

ockert@salt.ac.za

SAMS Data Analyst

John Menzies

jwm@saao.ac.za

Electronics Engineer

Keith Browne

keith@salt.ac.za

Senior Electronics Technician

Etienne Simon

es@salt.ac.za

Electronics Technician

Thabelo Makananise

thabelo@salt.ac.za

Head of Software Engineering

Janus Brink

janus@salt.ac.za

Bryne Chipembe

Software Engineer

Bryne Chipembe

bryne@salt.ac.za

Software Engineer

Anthony Koeslag

anthony@salt.ac.za

Software Engineer

Deneys Maartens

dsm@salt.ac.za

Optical Engineer

Melanie Saayman

melanie@salt.ac.za

Mechatronics Engineer

Richard Banda

richard@salt.ac.za

Mechanical Technician

Jonathan Love

jonathon@salt.ac.za

Mechanical Technician

Eben Wiid

eben@salt.ac.za

Mechanical Assistant

Denville Gibbons

dg@salt.ac.za

Mechanical Assistant

Johan Hendricks

johan@salt.ac.za

Mechanical Assistant

Timothy Fransman

timothy@salt.ac.za

Trainee Mechanical Artisan

Nicolaas Jacobs

nicholas@salt.ac.za

Mirror cleaning assistant

Wilhelmina De Water

willa@salt.ac.za

Mechanical Engineer

Nico van der Merwe

nico@salt.ac.za

Software Engineer

Sunnyboy Kabini

sunnyboy@salt.ac.za

Software Engineer

Dillon Klaasen

dillon@salt.ac.za

Administration

CFO, Company Secretary and Business Manager

Lizette Labuschagne

lizette@salt.ac.za

Accounts Clerk

Surayda Moosa

surayda@salt.ac.za

Board

Chair of the SALT Board

Prof. Michael Shara

American Museum of Natural History

National Research Foundation

Dr. Shazrene Mohamed

Polish Academy of Sciences

Prof. Marek Sarna

Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center

UK SALT Consortium

Prof. Phil Charles

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Prof. Matt Bershady

Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics

Prof. Somak Raychaudhury

Dartmouth College

Prof. Brian Chaboyer

Rutgers University

Prof. Jack Hughes

National Research Foundation

Prof. Fulufhelo Nelwamondo